top of page

What’s God’s Love Language?

Updated: Jun 30, 2020

We all think that loving someone is easy because we have this notion that love is simply a feeling.

However, love is not just a feeling; it is deeply rooted as an action.

And once we are in a relationship, we no longer can just have feelings of love; we must act out the love.

I remember a quote I once read that stated, “If you can fall in love, you can fall out of love.”

That is based off the theory that love is just a feeling.

But loving someone is an intended action.

It has to be if you want to have a successful relationship and marriage.

Dr. Gary Chapman has written a book called The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts.

According to him, there are five “love languages.”

The five are: Gifts, Physical Touch, Quality Time, Acts of Service, and Words of Affirmation.

The two underlying principles that Chapman reveals are that 1) we generally receive love from one of the five love languages and 2) we try to love our significant others the way that we want to be loved and not the other way around.

In order to find your love language, all you have to do is take the quiz and have your man take it as well.

Afterwards, you both can start the Free 30 Day Love Language Challenge where I give you 150 love language ideas.

We can simply find out what our love language is by taking Dr. Chapman’s quiz, but what about God’s love language.

How does God receive love?


“God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another. Do you have the gift of speaking? Then speak as though God himself were speaking through you. Do you have the gift of helping others? Do it with all the strength and energy that God supplies. Then everything you do will bring glory to God through Jesus Christ. All glory and power to him forever and ever! Amen.” 1 Peter 4:10-11

God receives love when we take the gifts that He has given us and we serve others.

If you have a talent or gift of encouragement, tap into that.

If you have a gift or service to others, tap into that.

Whatever it is, use your gift as a way to show God that you love Him and that you will honor Him with the gift that He has given you.

Physical Touch

Now, because God is a spirit and omnipresent, we are unable to physically touch Him and create intimacy with Him like we do with our husbands.

However, we create intimacy with God by touching the heart of God through worship.

Matthew 8:2-3 says,

“And behold, a leper came and worshiped Him, saying, “Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.” Then Jesus put out His hand and touched him, saying, “I am willing; be cleansed.” Immediately his leprosy was cleansed."

Luke 24:52-53 says,

“And they worshiped Him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy, and were continually in the temple praising and blessing God.”

John 9:38-39 says,

“Then he said, “Lord, I believe!” And he worshiped Him and Jesus said, “For judgment I have come into this world, that those who do not see may see, and that those who see may be made blind.”

Acts 16:14 says,

“Now a certain woman named Lydia heard us. She was a seller of purple from the city of Thyatira, who worshiped God. The Lord opened her heart to heed the things spoken by Paul.”

Each time someone worshipped, there was an exchange.

In the first scripture, the leper worshipped Jesus and in exchange, he was healed.

The second scripture, the disciples worshipped Jesus and in exchange, they recovered great joy.

Third scripture, a blind man worshipped Jesus and in exchange, he received a Word from the Lord.

And the fourth scripture, Lydia worshipped and in exchange, her heart was open.

So when we worship, we are able to touch the heart of God and also recover healing, the fruit of the spirit, a Word that is much needed, and barriers are able to open.

So not only do we give love that God understands through His love language of Physical Touch, we also receive something in return by pouring out our love on Him.

Quality Time

"But when you pray, go away by yourself, shut the door behind you, and pray to your Father in private. Then your Father, who sees everything, will reward you.” Matt. 6:6

Just like we spend time with our men, God desires for us to have time with Him.

He desires to have a relationship with us.

Scripture says that He is a jealous God.

No other god should be placed before Him.

When you take time out of your day to meditate on God’s Word, journal, pray, worship, whatever; you are showing love to Him.

Acts of Service

"Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.” Colossians 3:23

This love language ties into our gifts and Gifts is one of the five love languages.

So whatever it is that we do, not just professionally or not just serving as wives or in our relationships, but in all aspects of serving.

When we are driving and we let someone cut in front of us or cooking dinner for our men, it all should come from the bottom principle of doing it as unto the Lord.

Words of Affirmation

"Then I will praise God’s name with singing, and I will honor him with thanksgiving.” Psalms 69:30

The book of Psalms is filled with words of affirmation to the Lord!

Grab one every day and love on God and affirm Him in His goodness and righteousness.

So at the end of the day, we see that God receives love from all five languages.

Choose one, a couple, or all five and show God how much you love Him in the way He receives love.

And join me for the 30-Day Love Language Challenge.

Grab your 150 Love Language Ideas.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page